Slightly Irregular Conformity

To Artify or Not to Artify?

Seems to be more of an obsession than a question, at the moment.  I have not created any art journal spreads for a month.  Instead, I’ve been obsessing about why I haven’t been creating art, and putting more pressure on myself to hurry up and do something.  Which, of course, makes me less likely to get on with it.

Part of the problem is that I’m a graphic designer by day.  I spend much of my day organising spreads for other people, and believe it or not, it’s much, much easier to create something for a complete stranger than it is to create something from scratch just for me.  It also means that when I have a blank page in front of me, and I’m thinking of the possibilities, things start to feel more like a job than a hobby.

The other big reason is lack of a target.  I have no children, I have no big life issues to work through (except, maybe, my own unwillingness to do anything, haha).  I have none of the usual reasons that people create art for – including, it seems, making art because you would simply explode if you didn’t.

In short, I’m trying to justify why I haven’t been participating in the art journal group that I joined, and why I’m making a conscious move away from art and back to pure words.  I understand that art should be pushing your boundaries, but it shouldn’t be so hard that it’s demoralising.

No more art prompts for a while.  No more pressure.  I need to find my words again.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

