Slightly Irregular Conformity

Stash!

Went to the city yesterday, to collect my mother from the bus stop and to grab the opportunity to do a bit of shopping.  The Other Half decided to accompany me, as he wanted to shop too, so we took turns at trailing around after each other.  His turn first, then we went to a Big Craft Store!

I’m now the proud owner of enough art supplies to start turning out half decent pages!  I even went into town this morning to get a few more things – I’m on a roll!

To gesso and a half dozen tubes of acrylic paint, I’ve added a set of watercolours, which I have no idea how to use, really; some sparkly paint things that may or may not just be glue, I’m not sure yet; some actual Modge Podge, which surprised me since half the stuff I see online isn’t available here; a whole bunch of nifty stencils and a few brushes and foam things to use them with; some more acrylic paints, just to be on the safe side, and a tube of something iridescent medium, which I can’t wait to try out.

The biggest surprise for me was that I had mentally prepared to trail around after the OH at the hardware superstore, only to have him trailing me instead, while I hared about all over the place.  A heat gun went into the trolley, since I’m a terribly impatient person (waiting for paint to dry when I’ve spent years doing things instantly on the computer is a BIG adjustment).  It went straight back on the shelf though, after the OH said that he had two that he never uses.  They’re somewhere, I’ve been assured.  In the meantime, I’m doing a blog entry while waiting for three journal pages to dry…

The man in the paint section was really helpful, searching through paint rollers for something they don’t actually sell, then as soon as he disappeared I raided the paint chip display for different colours for punching and cutting up.  The next thing to show up in the trolley was a plastic chest and some masking tape – the chest is perfect for storing everything, and the tape makes a nice, no-nonsense label.

So now  I have excuses.  I have the gear, and I have a close approximation of the time to create art.  And it turns out… I’m not magically creative.  Rats.  I’ve been doing challenges for the group that I joined, but I haven’t been posting them there, or anywhere.  I think I need to spend a bit of time figuring out how to use everything, and seeing if I have a style of my own that isn’t craptastic, before sharing anything with anyone else.

In the meantime, I’ll be trawling YouTube for glimpses of art far superior to my own 🙂

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Stash!

  1. Hi, Wendy~
    I’m on Journal Challenges with you, and just checking out your Blog. Adding you to my favorites as I watch you progress (gleefully) with all your new stuff. Just in case you are not aware of it, in regard to your masking tape, there is a technique (called Faux Leather) using it and (the best result) shoe polish. You’ll have fun with this technique.
    JudiM

Leave a Reply

