Slightly Irregular Conformity

Booking Through Thursday 1

Stumbleupon rocks, by the way.  It’s how I found a blog about book memes, and a whole host of other journalling odds and sods that will keep me occupied for weeks.  But for now, my first foray into Booking Through Thursday: (and no, not on a Thursday either – talk about a promising start!)

What’s the most useful book you’ve ever read? And, why?

Cookbooks are the first things that come to mind, but I don’t know that I’ve ever sat down and read one cover to cover.  I’ve got a couple of those ‘how to clean everything’ and ‘1001 uses for vinegar’ type books as well, but it’s not exactly riveting reading.  I can’t even claim any self-help books, although that’s probably not a bad thing.  I’ve never been able to get into them, although I have a bunch of writing/journalling ones on wishlists across the web…

As boring as it is, the most useful book I’ve actually read completely is the user manual for our DVR.  I didn’t read it because I was starved of the written word; rather, we couldn’t figure out how to get it to record for more than 30 minutes at a time.  I scoured the book from cover to cover to try and figure out why, and eventually posted to a .comp newsgroup.  I got the answer within half an hour, and then read the stupid manual again to see if I’d missed it the first time, but no.  Apparently, it’s a quirk unique to all Philips recording devices that the entire universe knew about except us.  (In case you’re wondering, you have to press the record button once for each half hour – 90 minutes means three hits to the red button).

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

