Slightly Irregular Conformity

APlace Prompt – Control

Today’s prompt from A Place of Ones Own: If you could take more control of one aspect of your life, what would it be?

My finances.  I’m shockingly bad with money.  A couple of weeks ago I realised that I couldn’t actually afford to live, with two credit cards and a bunch of HPs, plus a vehicle loan, so went and refinanced.  Both cards cancelled, HPs and store accounts paid up and shut down, and suddenly my weekly expenses have halved.  I don’t care about the interest – I am happy to have actual money in my account after payday.  Now, I need to get into the habit of saving for things, instead of ticking them up on contract.  It’s going to be a novel experience – every single big-dollar item I’ve ever owned I’ve gotten on HP, because it’s been easier, and I’ve always been good about paying it back, but now I’m going to have a go at doing it backwards: get the cash and then buy the goods.

That said, today I bought a new handbag.  Payday is most of the week away, and I’m left with enough money for badminton this week, but that’s it.  Is it okay for me to claim that being bad with money is a hard habit to break, and I need a little time?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

